Particle Physics in the United States

Particle physics is both global and local. Scientists, engineers, and technicians at over 200 universities, institutes, and laboratories throughout the U.S. are working in partnership with their international colleagues to build hightech tools and components, conduct scientific research, and train and educate the next generation of innovators. Valuing equity, diversity, and inclusion, the field is committed to increasing participation of underrepresented groups. Particle physics activities in the U.S. attract some of the best scientists from around the world. Map indicates institutions receiving federal research funding.

Particle Physics Institutions as of 2023


University of Alabama–Birmingham

University of Alabama–Tuscaloosa

University of South Alabama


Arizona State University

University of Arizona


California Institute of Technology

California Polytechnic State University

California State University–Stanislaus

California State University–East Bay

California State University–Long Beach Foundation

California State University–Sacramento

Harvey Mudd College

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

San Diego State University

San Francisco State University

San Jose State University Research Foundation

SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Sonoma State University

Stanford University

University Enterprises Corporation at CSUSB

University of California–Berkeley

University of California–Davis

University of California–Irvine

University of California–Los Angeles

University of California–Riverside

University of California–San Diego

University of California–Santa Barbara

University of California–Santa Cruz

University of San Diego

University of Southern California

University of the Pacific

Westmont College


Aspen Center For Physics

Colorado School of Mines

Colorado State University

RadiaSoft LLC

University of Colorado–Boulder

University of Colorado–Denver


University of Connecticut

Wesleyan University

Yale University

District of Columbia

National Academy of Sciences

Naval Research Laboratory

Universities Research Association Inc


University of Delaware


Florida A&M University

Florida Institute of Technology

Florida International University

Florida State University

University of Florida

University of Miami

University of North Florida


Georgia Tech

Kennesaw State University


University of Hawaii


Boise State University


Ames Laboratory

Iowa State University

Luther College

University of Iowa


Argonne National Laboratory

College of DuPage

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

Illinois Institute of Technology

Loyola University Chicago

Northern Illinois University

Northwestern University

University of Chicago

University of Illinois at Chicago

University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign


Indiana University

Purdue University

University of Notre Dame


Kansas State University

University of Kansas

Wichita State University


University of Kentucky

University of Louisville


Louisiana State University

Louisiana Tech University


American Association of Variable Star Observers

Boston University

Brandeis University

Harvard University

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Northeastern University

Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory

Tufts University

University of Massachusetts–Amherst

Wellesley College

Williams College


American Physical Society

Johns Hopkins University

US Naval Academy

University of Maryland

University of Maryland Baltimore County


Bowdoin College


Lawrence Technological University

Michigan State University

Michigan Technological University

Oakland University

University of Michigan–Ann Arbor

Wayne State University


Bethel University

University of Minnesota–Duluth

University of Minnesota–Twin Cities


Missouri University of Science and Technology

University of Missouri

Washington University


Jackson State University

Tougaloo College

University of Mississippi


University of Nebraska-Lincoln

New Hampshire

Dartmouth College

University of New Hampshire

New Jersey

Institute For Advanced Study

Princeton University

Rutgers University

New Mexico

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Sandia National Laboratories

University of New Mexico

New York

American University of Beirut

Barnard College

Brookhaven National Laboratory

Columbia University

Cornell University

CUNY City College

CUNY Graduate School University Center

CUNY Herbert H. Lehman College

CUNY York College

Manhattan College

New York Institute of Technology

New York University

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Siena College

SUNY College at Old Westbury

SUNY at Buffalo

SUNY at Stony Brook

SUNY Polytechnic Institute

Syracuse University

University of Rochester

North Carolina

Duke University

North Carolina State University

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Case Western Reserve University

Euclid Techlabs, LLC

Kenyon College

Oberlin College

Ohio State University

Ohio University

University of Cincinnati

Youngstown State University


Oklahoma State University

University of Oklahoma


Oregon State University

University of Oregon-Eugene


Bucknell University

Carnegie Mellon University

Drexel University

Haverford College

Lafayette College

Lehigh University

Pennsylvania State University

Temple University

University of Pennsylvania

University of Pittsburgh

Puerto Rico

University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez

Rhode Island

Brown University

South Carolina

University of South Carolina

South Dakota

Augustana College

Sanford Laboratory

South Dakota School of Mines & Technology

University of South Dakota


Oak Ridge National Laboratory

University of Tennessee

Vanderbilt University


Baylor University

Sam Houston State University

Southern Methodist University

Texas A&M University

Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Texas Tech University

The University of Texas at Arlington

The University of Texas at Austin

The University of Texas at Dallas

The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

University of Houston

William Marsh Rice University


Brigham Young University

University of Utah

Utah State University


College of William and Mary

George Mason University

Old Dominion University

Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility

University of Virginia

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


Middlebury College


Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

University of Washington


Marquette University

University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire

University of Wisconsin–Madison


University of Wyoming